Pensiunea Ştefănuţ
Pensiunea Stefanut Pensiunea Stefanut Pensiunea Stefanut Pensiunea Stefanut Pensiunea Stefanut Pensiunea Stefanut Pensiunea Stefanut Pensiunea Stefanut Pensiunea Stefanut Pensiunea Stefanut

Sightseeing

Contact

Address: Pensiunea ŞTEFĂNUŢ
Sat Scrind-Frăsinet, nr. 27,
comuna Mărgău, jud. Cluj
Email:
Phone: +40-264.483.177
Mobile phone: +40-727.894.374
Website: http://pensiunea.stefanut.ro

Scrind-Frăsinet village along with five other villages (Mărgău, Buteni, Ciuleni, Bociu and Răchiţele) and the Doda-Pilii and Ic Ponor hamlets is part of Mărgău commune.

With a population of little over 200 inhabitants, Scrind-Frăsinet village has two main parts: Scrind, spread along two river valleys (Săcuieului and Cetăţii) and Frăsinet (little ash tree), a small hamlet with few scattered houses, specific to the villages around the Apuseni mountains.

The area of Mărgău commune is cut through by a very important tourist road that connects Huedin – Călata – Buteni – Mărgău – Scrind-Frăsinet – Răchiţele – Doda-Pilli up to the Padiş natural protected area and even further away over the mountains to the Bihor county. In Padiş (58 km from Huedin) you can discover among other natural treasures the impressive carst site known as Cetăţile Ponorului (Sinkhole).

On the Săcuieu Valley downstream of the confluence with Mărgăuţa river, only 1 km away from the center of Scrind village, you can find the Scrind-Frăsinet barrier lake. An unusual presence for this area is the 100 years old sequoia tree on Dealul Domnului (God’s Hill) from Săcuieu, a neighboring commune.

Here are some of the main tourist attractions and national reservations in the area:

The fortified church „The Archangels Michael and Gabriel” of Mărgău, first registered in 1797, was built out of hammered river stone while the church tower is made out of wood. In the 19th century a fortification wall was built around the church.

The church „The Assumption” of Ciuleni, first registered between 1747 and 1859, was built entirely out of fir tree wood.

Vârfuraşu cave located in the basin of the Stanciu Valley in Răchiţele village has an altitude of 1236 m. It is more than 2 km long and spreads across approximately 1 ha. It has been declared a natural protected area. The main attraction points in this cave are the deposits of montmilch crystals, stalagmites, stalactites and the columns made out of stone milk pouring out from the fossil gallery and from the parietal leaks of the Lakes Gallery.

Piatra Ponorului (Sinkhole) cave located in the south-west part of Răchiţele village covers approximately 2 ha and has been declared a protected area since 6 March 2000;

The Big Cave from Firea Valley is another national protected area with a total area of about 2 ha. It is a large cave that spreads over two levels: an upper level consisting of many halls and galleries, and a lower level that hosts an underground river. This cave is one of the longest of Romania (35 km) but it is estimated that there is some uncharted territory of about 15 km.

Stanciu Valley and Răchiţele Waterfall: in the Stanciu Valley, at about 9 km from Pension Ştefănuţ, you can discover hidden behind fir trees a beautiful waterfall named “The Bride’s Veil”. With a total height of about 50 m and two very well defined vertical sections, this waterfall is one of the most impressive you can find in the Apuseni Mountais and definitely the most accessible (car access is possible up to 20 meters away from the waterfall). As for the name of the waterfall (“Bride’s Veil”) there is a local legend that mentions a bride falling off the cliffs. Her veil remained hooked on one of the cliffs and when the wedding guests saw the tragedy their flood of tears gave birth to the beautiful waterfall which can be seen today. In winter, as the rocky walls of the waterfall cover in ice, the ice-climbing lovers are welcome to practice their favorite sport in the international competition “Răchiţele Cup”.

The Stanciu Valley – White Stones – Bride’s Veil Watterfall route reveals spectacular caves for underground climbing, cliffy abrupt areas, narrow openings between breathtaking steep walls and impressive views over the valley (seen from the White Stones and the Talking Stone). This route is fairly easy and can also be done by car.

The Caves’ route on the Stanciu Valley is a 3-hour journey by foot and is one of the most spectacular sites that you can find in the Apuseni Mountains. As some of the sections are very steep it is highly recommended to be accompanied by a guide from the Salvamont Salvaspeo Vlădeasa Cluj team.

Vlădeasa is one of the highest peaks of the Apuseni Mountains watching over Mărgău commune at the West. It measures 1 836 m in height and offers breathtaking views over Stâna de Vale and the Buteasa, Padiș, Bihor and Muntele Mare peaks, as well as over the Huedin basin; in December, when clouds are low and the air is clear one can see the snowy crests of the Retezat Mountains.

The 3 to 4-hour route up to Vlădeasa chalet (1400 m) is as follows: Salvamont Răchiţele – Valea Seacă (the Dry Valley) – Boaică – Pietrele Albe (the White Stones) – Drumul Rogojanului – Vlădeasa chalet. The White Stones make up a huge calcareous wall erected on ancient volcanic structures. It has some very steep areas, such as Piatra Grăitoare (the Talking Stone). Stânca Lespezi (Lespezi cliff) is another impressive site due to its very high (300 up to 1100 m) steep wall.

Beliş Fântânele Barrier Lake can be reached at about 10 km away from Pension Ştefănuţ at an altitude of 990 m. It covers 9.8 sq km and is 13 km long. It was built between 1970 and 1974 with a hydro-energetic purpose, but its construction required the dislocation of several small villages which were intentionally flooded. Today, on arid summer days when the water level is low one can see the ruins of the former Giurcuța de Jos village church.

An ancient Roman castrum and a medieval fortress can be found in Bologa, at about 25 km away from Mărgău. The Resculum castrum was built in 106 A.D. as a garrison to the 2nd “Hispanorum” cohort who was in charge of defending the border of the Roman Empire. The medieval fortress was first documented in 1304 under the name of Sebuswar and played a strategic role, also serving as a refuge for the local population against the invaders. Although it was systematically destroyed by natural and man-made causes, we can still admire today its picturesque stone figure.